#ProjectRecipe Whole Wheat Blackberry Ricotta Scones

So, I kinda have a soft spot in my heart for scones. And I never knew it until the last couple years. I tried a copycat recipe for Starbucks Pumpkin Scones and it was love at first bite. Mind you, I’d never even tasted the original.

Since then, I’ve tried several scones recipes, but I keep coming back to the one that won me over. (And I really don’t care for the actual Pumpkin Scones at Starbucks. They left a weird taste in my mouth and made me really thirsty. Probably all the chemical ingredients they have that mine don’t.) At any rate, if I see a recipe for scones on the internet, I’m at least going to take a gander. The fact that these have whole wheat–making them healtier, is what pulled me in. And that I have a bazillion pints of blackberries, frozen and canned.

The recipe is from Smitten Kitchen. The recipe is actually for whole wheat raspberry ricotta scones, but I subbed in blackberries because that’s what I have. I’ve seen the same recipe with a few tweaks on another blog. And I actually printed off both of them without realizing it. I guess it really made an impression on me.

Scones are basically like blank canvases with some universal ingredients and processes, that make them scones. Scones have a crumbly, almost dry texture. And they are traditionally made by cutting cold butter into the dough to give them their delicate crumbly texture. Pretty much all the recipes I’ve looked at call for the same amounts of butter, flour and baking powder, with something to wet the dough a little and give them some flavor.

You might recall that I stopped buying cereal for myself for breakfast, and stopped buying the Hubs frozen breakfast food like Hot Pockets and Jimmy Dean biscuits a couple years ago. I try to make a batch of grab and go breakfast food on Sunday nights for us to eat all week. I am not much of a sweets-for-breakfast kinda person, which I think is why I am so fond of scones–they really aren’t that sweet. Just enough.

The Project Recipe Verdict: Eh. It PAINS me to do this, but I wasn’t jazzed about these for one reason: the dough was too wet. After I got done mixing the dough up, I knew something was off. I looked back over the recipe twice just to make sure I hadn’t made a mistake. They only thing I can think of is it could be because I used blackberries that I canned last summer. Even though I drained the juice off them, they still had more juice in the berry than if had I used fresh. Looking back, I should have omitted the cream. Maybe I owe it to Smitten Kitchen to give this recipe one more try because I absolutely adore that blog. But there are hundreds of scone recipes out there, and I am kinda over this one. Maybe someday I’ll be surfing the web for recipes and it will show up on my radar and I’ll try it again.

They are very pretty, though.IMG_2887

IMG_2888

I couldn’t even roll the dough out and cut the scones into pieces it was so loose. I just dropped them by the spoonful onto a baking sheet. It was very “rustic.”

IMG_2881

They are pretty tasty, but the texture just isn’t right. We’re still eating them for breakfast this week though. You can click the link above, or click here to check out the recipe and the Smitten Kitchen Blog if you aren’t already a devoted follower. You’ll thank me if you do.

Leave a Reply

