#ProjectRecipe : French Breakfast Muffins

Since kicking the processed food habit a year or two ago, one of the hardest things was figuring out what to eat for breakfast. Muffins and quick breads are my go-to now. The Hubs has a picky palate when it comes to breakfast and I usually need something I can grab on my way out the door and eat on the way to work (not the safest practice, I know). I have an old stand-by blueberry muffin recipe that I rotate around regularly. But I am always looking for something new to try to keep weekday breakfast from getting boring. 

Let me assure you, these French breakfast muffins are NOT boring.

IMG_3012

I can’t remember what caught my eye about this recipe to begin with. I know I found it on Pinterest. But it’s crazy good.

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: Def a keeper.

What I changed about the recipe: I used half all-purpose flour and half whole wheat flour, which gave it some texture, and of course made it healthier. I also substituted coconut oil for the butter in the topping. Butter would be good, but coconut oil gives it that little extra sweetness.

I couldn’t resist trying one warm when it came out of the oven. I seriously had to walk away from the pan to keep from eating two or three… These are addicting, and best warm, so if you make a batch to eat on all week, like I did, just pop them in the microwave for no more than 10 seconds.

Here’s the recipe how I made it:

French Breakfast Muffins (makes 8 or 9 regular-sized, or 10-12 small)

1/3 cup of butter, melted

1/2 cup sugar (I use Florida Crystals Organic Cane Sugar)

1 large egg, beaten

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

1/2 cup whole milk

In a medium bowl, mix all the dry ingredients well. Add butter, egg and milk and stir until just combined. Be careful not to over mix. Grease a muffin pan (I use coconut oil) and fill the cups 2/3 of the way full with the muffin mix. Bake 20-25 minutes until tops get golden brown.

Topping:

1/2 cup sugar (I used Florida Crystals demerara–it’s more coarse)

1/3 coconut oil

1 tsp. cinnamon

Mix sugar and cinnamon together in a saucer or small bowl. I another small bowl, heat coconut oil until it is in liquid form (if it’s not already–takes like 10 seconds in the microwave). Dip each muffin top in the coconut oil and roll in the cinnamon and sugar mixture. Careful–you might find yourself eating them as you do this. It’s very dangerous…

Here is the link to the recipe I found. There are a number of similar recipes on pinterest, though. I’m sure all just as delicious. I will definitely keep this recipe in my rotation of breakfast muffins.

Leave a Reply

