PROJECT RECIPE: Campanelle with Pale Ale Cream Sauce

I stumbled on a fantastic blog from Pinterest a few weeks back. It was right around St. Patrick’s Day, actually.  I remember because there was a recipe that used Guinness. Several actually… It was The Beeroness. The Beeroness cooks and bakes with beer. I love beer. And cooking. So, naturally, I was instantly a fan.

Work has been super-crazy. We just finished up our busy time of year. I was working long hours. And when I got home (long after dinner) I didn’t do anything but crash. And the next day, I did it all over again. The Hubs said he does not want to see a frozen pizza for a long, long time.

Last week, I found myself home while it was still light outside. And wanting to cook something for dinner. I printed off the recipe for Orecchiette Pasta with Pale Ale Cream Sauce a while back, but I just never got around to making it.

IMG_3022

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: Keeper! It was super easy, quick and versatile. You could easily sub in carrots or mushrooms and add some chicken or something. The pale ale in the sauce makes it different. If you didn’t know it was in the sauce, you be saying “There’s something about this sauce I just can’t put my finger on…” It’s a very subtle bitter hoppiness, and contrasts beautifully with the sweetness of the peas and the nutty saltiness of the parmesan.

How I changed the recipe: I used campanelle instead of orecchiette, obviously. I also added a little bit of roux made with 1 tablespoon each of butter and flour to the sauce to thicken it up a bit. I substituted half and half for the cream since that’s what I had on hand. I also think I made too much pasta. I used a whole pound of dried pasta. When I make this again, I’ll use less. It wasn’t saucy enough.

I’ll let you jump over to The Beeroness blog and look around for yourself. If you’re a craft beer fan like me, there are enough recipes to keep you busy (and keep your mouth watering) for a long time. Here’s the link again to the recipe I made: Orecchiette with Pale Ale Cream Sauce.

IMG_3024

Of course, I had the rest of the pale ale I opened to make the sauce with dinner. Can’t be wasting that!

Leave a Reply

