PROJECT RECIPE: Spinach and sundried tomato pasta

Now that the busy time of my real job is over, I’m slowly getting back into actually cooking. And posting. And just in time for us to get busy with softball games. Yes, I play on 2 teams and Jeremy plays on 3. We are full-on crazy. We have pretty much no time for anything else. So, this time of year, I start looking for quick and easy meals that I can make on the fly before or after a game.

I stumbled across this recipe for Spinach, Sundried Tomato and Goat Cheese Pasta a while back. I am trying to slowly work through, not only my big binder of recipes I print from other blogs, but through my pinterest pins. That’s a lot of recipes. But I never find myself without a plan for dinner, that’s for sure.

In keeping with the softball theme, I’d say this recipe was a “home run!”

IMG_3034

Cheesy, I know.

Actually, it was cheesy–goat cheesy.

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: It’s a keeper. It was super fast and filing. And vegetarian, so it was my weekly “Meatless Monday” offering. It was so tasty, I didn’t notice there was no meat in it. You can click through this link to the recipe I found, but below is how I made it.

Spinach, Sundried Tomato and Goat Cheese Pasta (serves 2 generously)

  • 8 oz. dried pasta (I used penne)
  • 2-ish Tb extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tsp minced garlic (or 3 cloves minced)
  • About 4 cups of fresh spinach
  • 10 – 12 sundried tomato pieces
  • 3 oz. goat cheese
  • freshly grated parmasan cheese

Cook pasta according to package. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large skillet on medium heat. Add garlic and saute a minute or two, until it becomes fragrant. Add spinach and turn down heat to low. Give it a good stir to coat the spinach with the oil. Place a lid on the skillet. Stir occasionally, until spinach wilts, about 3-4 minutes. Place sundried tomatoes in a bowl and cover with boiling water. Let sit about 15 minutes until tender. You may want to cut the tomatoes into smaller pieces. I do this with a pair of kitchen scissors. Add to the spinach in the skillet. Reserve the water. When the pasta has finished cooking, drain it well. Add the spinach and tomato mixture to the pasta. Add the goat cheese and stir well to melt the goat cheese. You may need to add a little bit of the tomato-y water to the mixture if it doesn’t seem saucy enough. Serve immediately and top with grated parm cheese.

IMG_3032

This recipe came together in less than 25 minutes. Fast, easy and delicious. Perfect for a busy weeknight. I didn’t have any sour cream, like the original recipe called for, so I didn’t add it in. I just added an extra spoon full of goat cheese and some of the water from soaking the tomatoes, and it didn’t seem to matter.

Here’s a funny story. I like to think I kinda know what I’m doing in the kitchen. I mean, I watch the FoodNetwork, for Godsakes. (That’s a joke…) But a few weeks back, I made some mac and cheese with sundried tomatoes. It was pretty good, but the tomatoes were a little… off. Chewy and really strong tasting. The Hubs wasn’t a fan–and this mac and cheese even had bacon in it! Well, I happen to read the back of the package some point just a couple weeks ago when I was using them to make bruschetta. Der! Jennelle, you’re supposed to soak them in water!!! That makes so much sense. That’s why they were so chewy and overpowering. Lesson learned. Soak you sundried tomatoes in water first, as per the package instructions, or your husband will tell you they taste like tobacco leaves!

Leave a Reply

