My favorite way to eat asparagus

This spring has been epic for asparagus.

I mentioned before that the Hubs works with a guy who’s family owns a farm that grows and sells it. It’s just been too easy. I tell the Hubs we’re almost out, he makes a call and then brings half a box home the next day. Not many people can claim personal asparagus delivery. The first few bunches we got were “on the house” but soon I figured out what was going on. He was just “chumming” us in with his tasty and convenient asparagus. Now that we’re hooked, he’s charging us. (I’m kidding… I fully expected to pay for this spring delicacy. The price is still hard to beat.)

Anyway, so I’ve eaten a TON of asparagus this spring. Fritattas, soups, grilled, roasted, steamed; you name it. I’m like the Bubba Gump of asparagus.

So far, my favorite way to eat it is steamed with a simple Asian sauce. I ran across a similar recipe in my San Francisco Ferry Plaza Farmer’s Market Cookbook, and just modified it.

IMG_3111

Awesome Asian Asparagus (serves 2 as a side)

  • 1/2 lb of asparagus
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • a few dashes of red pepper flakes

Trim tough ends from asparagus spears (extra credit if you save them for vegetable stock). Cut asparagus into 2-inch pieces. Steam asparagus for 8 minutes or so, until fork tender. Don’t overdo it here. You don’t want mushy asparagus. It should still have a bit of crispness. In a medium bowl, toss the asparagus with the sesame oil, soy sauce and red pepper flakes. EAT.

This is embarrassingly easy to make. But good God, is it good.

I ate the bowl pictured above for dinner last night. By myself. Yeah, my pee smells funny now.

You might notice the Le Creuset steamer in the pic above. I am in love with it. I plant a big wet kiss on it every time I get it out of the cabinet. It makes steaming veggies (and shrimp–that’s all I’ve tried so far in it) so easy, there’s really no reason not to eat your veggies.

Actually, I was lucky enough to win this steamer last fall as a door prize at Mixed Con. If you’re in the Mid-Atlantic and looking for a food blogger conference to attend this coming November, go straight to the Mixed Con webpage and register. It was the berries and I cannot wait to go back. I learned a ton of stuff about blogging, met Duff Goldman, brought home a sweet bag o’ swag, met Duff Goldman, ate a bunch of really good food, met Duff Goldman, made some wonderful cyber blogger friends, met Duff Goldman, and won a fantastic door prize. Oh, yeah, I also met Duff Goldman.

The array of door prizes the hosts of the conference gave away was absolutely dizzying. I was stoked to win the Le Creuset Farm Fresh Steamer. I didn’t use it much until recently when asparagus came in season. I do plan on putting it to work throughout the summer for fresh veggies and fish, though.

One thought on “My favorite way to eat asparagus

  1. thanks for the fallow and we love asparagus too…. we sometimes pick it wild and sometimes buy it at the market,but have never been lucky enough to get home delivery..

Leave a Reply

