Vacation Detox Soup

I love vacation. Who doesn’t?

But the thing I hate about vacation is feeling all puffy after a few days of eating (and drinking) with abandon.

So, I was on vacation last week. Eating and drinking with abandon. And the number one thing on my list for when I got back was a detox.

Not a crazy “Beyonce-lemon juice-cayenne-maple syrup” detox. Something a little more doable. I was looking at what foods I could add that are good detox foods, and you pretty much can’t go wrong with vegetables–lot’s of vegetables.

That, and the fact that when I got home from being gone a week, I was overrun with arugula and kale that really needed picked. Greens are one of the top foods for detoxing the body, so I was in business.

I’m a huge fan of soups for lunch, so I thought the easiest way to get it into my meals now that I’m back to the grindstone was to make a soup.

Kale and Lentil Detox Soup (makes 4 servings)

  • 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 4 small cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 quarts of vegetable broth
  • 2 big handfuls (about 3 cups) arugula, chopped
  • 2 big handfuls of baby kale, chopped
  • 1 cup dried green lentils
  • salt and pepper to taste

Heat the oil in a large pot on medium heat and add the onion and garlic.

IMG_3200 IMG_3201

Cook until softened a bit. Add the broth and bring to a simmer.

IMG_3202

Adding frozen homemade broth

Add the lentils and simmer for 10 minutes or so with the lid on the pot.

IMG_3203 IMG_3204

Add the greens and stir well, and replace the lid. Simmer for another 10 minutes, or until the lentils are tender. (I added them at the same time and didn’t chop the greens. When I make it again, I’ll do it this way since the lentils took a little longer to soften up than the greens did to wilt. Chopping the greens will make them wilt faster.) Remove from heat and let cool a few minutes. Puree with a hand blender to desired consistency. I left mine a little chunky.

IMG_3257

Mmm. Detox lunch.

This soup was so ridiculously good. But, I love kale, so if you really like kale, this is right up your alley! I ate it for lunch with a salad made from black seeded simpson lettuce, “baby” baby kales and radishes from my garden, and tarragon vinaigrette.

A couple other things I did Monday morning to get the detox rolling was to start my day with warm lemon water. Drinking a cup of warm water with about a tablespoon of freshly squeezed organic lemon helps to flush toxins out of your system and stimulate your liver and kidneys. You should try to drink it 30 minutes before you drink or eat anything else. I did read that detoxes sometimes eliminate dairy because it is harder to digest. I did swap out some plain unsweetened almond milk for my morning coffee instead of half and half, and I cut back on the cheese on my salad. I could not give up my daily greek yogurt, though. A little dairy is almost as good as cutting it out altogether, right?

I’m already feeling less puffy.

*Disclaimer – I’m no dietician or nutritionist, just an eater.

Leave a Reply

