PROJECT RECIPE: Basil Buttermilk Ranch Dressing

I love this time of year. It’s prime time for fresh veggies. You won’t find them any fresher for the next couple months. And it never fails that I find myself at least a few times over the summer with a too much of something from my garden or someone else’s. I never complain. I love fresh garden vegetables no matter where they come from.

A friend of my mom’s (and fellow kale-lover) sent me a huge bag each of blue curled scotch kale and leaf lettuce.

The kale disappeared quickly. And when I ran across a recipe for homemade buttermilk ranch salad dressing, it couldn’t have been more timely.

This is truly the way to enjoy fresh lettuce. This dressing is UNBELIEVABLY good. Don’t just take my word for it. Try it. The link is below.

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: Def a keeper. Like, “I am licking my plate” keeper.

I found this recipe for Basil Buttermilk Ranch on Food52.com. I LOVE that website. If you don’t subscribe to their email updates, you should. And I have the Food52 cookbook on my kindle. The concept is every week, the creators of the website pick an ingredient or type of food, generally based on the season–for example, this week it’s the best use of fresh herbs. Or it might be asparagus or ice cream. Anyway, people submit their original recipes, and the creators pick some recipes to try. The best ones are featured on the website. It’s a great resource if you find yourself with too much of something like I mentioned. You can find a whole bunch of recipes for strawberries, or whatever in one place. And because the recipes are vetted by Amanda and Merrill, who created the website, you can bet your ass they are bomb recipes.

Just like this one was.

IMG_3375

I REALLY wish I had a better picture of it. The problem was, I kept gobbling it up before I remembered to take any pictures. It is so good, it even elevated this humble take-out garden salad, that I used the last of it on. It’s time to make some more–STAT!

It’s perfect because I usually end up throwing out buttermilk because I buy a quart when I need a cup for a recipe. What do you do with the leftover? I certainly don’t drink it. Yuck. But it is oh-so-delicious in this dressing. I know what I’ll be doing with my leftover buttermilk from now on out. I even had everything I needed to make this dressing on hand, and you probably do to. Score.

One thought on “PROJECT RECIPE: Basil Buttermilk Ranch Dressing

  1. Pingback: PROJECT RECIPE: Buffalo Falafel | Delicious Potager

Leave a Reply

