PROJECT RECIPE Odds and Ends

This week, I have a couple odds and ends I’m going to wrap into one post for PROJECT RECIPE since they weren’t a big meal.

First, for breakfast this week, I made a batch of Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal. I got the recipe from Kris Carr’s website. If you’ve never heard of Kris Carr, go to her website RIGHT NOW. She is awesome. A couple years ago, she was diagnosed with inoperable and incurable (but slow growing) stage 4 cancer. Rather than treat the diagnosis like a death sentence like most people facing those grim prospects probably would, she decided to live life like every day could be your last, because to her, it literally could be. She’s such an inspiration. And she’s managing her illness through her diet, something that I think all of us could do more of to live better, whether we have sickness or not.

IMG_3418

 

Here’s the shot of my Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal. It was a reader-submitted recipe, and I have to say, it’s right on.

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: keeper!

The recipe makes enough for 3 servings. I just reheated it the two mornings after I made it, which was really nice for cutting down on my time in the mornings. It wasn’t super sweet at all. You’ll notice I sprinkled about 1 teaspoon of raw mascavo sugar over mine, and it was perfect.

How I changed the recipe: I substituted unsweetened almond milk for the coconut milk because that’s what I had on hand.

I think I overcooked it a little. It was hard for me to gauge the doneness since I usually make 1 serving at a time.

This week I also made Hibiscus Popsicles from the Stay At Stove Dad blog. That blog is adorable, by the way. I printed this recipe a while back and didn’t make them because I don’t have any popsicle molds. I was telling my mom how I wanted some the other day, and that same day, she spotted some at the Dollar Store! Ask and ye shall receive! I thought my nieces might be coming to our house with my inlaws for dinner, so I wanted to make these for them, but our plans fell through.

IMG_3414

I’m not sure they would have liked them anyway. They are made from hibiscus tea, and although they’re red and lemony, they still taste a lot like tea. Which is fine with me. I liked them.

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: keeper!

I like these, especially for kids, because there’s no artificial colors or sweeteners here–a particularly nice alternative to petroleum-based Red 40 dye. I try to avoid artificial food dyes AT ALL COSTS, and it’s never a problem for me. But I know that little kids (and I don’t even have any) like bright, exciting foods, which Red-40 delivers. I think if I tinker around with this recipe a little, it will be more popsicle-y tasting and my nieces might like them.

IMG_3415

I’m enjoying this batch all to myself though.

How I changed the recipe: I didn’t have fresh ginger, so I used about 1/2 tsp of ground dried ginger. I also omitted the lemon juice because I was afraid it would make it to sour. I think it would have helped, though.

Leave a Reply

