PROJECT RECIPE: Buffalo Falafel

To steal a quote from the blog I got this from…

“Buffaloes have balls, not wings. You know this.”

Indeed. I love the Thug Kitchen blog. You should check it out. Unless you don’t like profanity. Then definitely don’t.

I am in the camp that finds profanity, if used smartly, to be hysterical. Yes, I was a fan of George Carlin.

Thug Kitchen reminds me a lot of Epic Meal Time, because of delivery. But it’s better because, let’s face it: the food they make on Epic Meal Time is kinda gross. I would never think of eating most of it. But it’s funny to watch. Thug Kitchen rocks because it’s mostly vegetarian. And I will eat the shit out of some vegetarian… Sorry. I just got carried away after scrolling around on Thug Kitchen.

So, last August, the Hubs and I did a Reverse Meatless Monday challenge, where we only ate meat one day a week for the whole month. It was incredibly insightful, and broadened my repertoire of tasty vegetarian recipes. I was thinking about doing it again this year, but ultimately decided not to. I did however make a conscious effort to eat a meatless meal more than one day a week (which I do already in observance of Meatless Monday). With all the vegetables coming out of the garden and from the farmers market this month, it’s easier than you’d think.

Drawing on what I learned last year when I did Reverse Meatless Monday, I knew I had to come out of the gate with a fantastic meatless meal that would grab our attention and inspire us to power through the rest of the month on only a handful of meat dinners. And when I saw the recipe on Thug Kitchen for Buffalo Falafel, I knew I was onto something.

IMG_3471

This recipe takes falafel to a new level. Falafel is a Middle Eastern dish made from mashed chick peas formed into balls or patties and deep fried. What’s not to love? It’s basically deep fried balls of hummus. Add some buffalo sauce and you are thuggin. Except these are baked, not fried, so they are actually pretty healthy.

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: I’m still thinking about it. I probably won’t keep it. Here’s why: this was a good “gateway” recipe for falafel. It’s like the first time I had egg rolls, they were from Charlie Woo’s and they were “pizza” egg rolls. I’ve had falafel before, but it was fried. Fried food is always better. These fell apart kinda easily, but they were still very tasty. I might have made the mixture a little too lose when I was mixing it up by adding some water. At any rate, I liked them and so did the Hubs. I think we’re ready to graduate to the deep fried more-authentic version though.

This recipe gets bonus points for being super fast, though. They were done in about 30 minutes. I didn’t make the buffalo sauce with the recipe, though. I’m not a huge fan of buffalo sauce, actually. Shocker, I know. It’s one of the few things that I really don’t like. I was afraid I wouldn’t like them if it put it all over them, so we used some Frank’s buffalo wing sauce we had, and I put a little bit on them. I then proceeded to smoother out the buffalo taste with homemade ranch dressing. I should have put them in a pita bread, though. That would have been tasty.

IMG_3473

The bottom line is, do I think you should make these? Of course. Or at the very least, check out the blog and find something else awesome to make. Will I make this recipe again? I doubt it. But I would not rule out making falafel again though. It’s pretty boss.

2 thoughts on “PROJECT RECIPE: Buffalo Falafel

  1. Pingback: PROJECT RECIPE: Thug Kitchen Summer Rolls | Delicious Potager

Leave a Reply

