PROJECT RECIPE: Eggplant Caponata

The first time I ever heard of caponata, Tony Bourdain was eating it. I think it was on the Emilia Romagna episode, which could be my favorite episode.

That whole episode makes me think of Italy completely differently. I’d never heard of Emilia Romagna before, and it instantly went to the top of my bucket list.

Anyway, I’m getting sidetracked. And my mouth is watering. I was intrigued about caponata. I like eggplant, and this sounded like an easy way to use it.

I made a batch of caponata last summer, but I couldn’t find the recipe. I found a different recipe this year, but the basic ingredients don’t change much: eggplant, onion, garlic, tomato, honey and red wine vinegar. The recipe is from Mountain Mama Cooks. I think I found it on pinterest, but I’m glad I stumbled on it. This blog is full of gorgeous pics of comfort food that just make me want to make it all and eat it up!

IMG_3487

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: Keeper. I love the Italian way of eating–long, leisurely, casual meals with lots of wine, good cheese and bread. What’s not to love? This dish basically begs you to eat it that way, by spooning some on bread, enjoying some cheese and wine.

How I changed it: I halved the recipe. Also, I didn’t have pine nuts, so I omitted those. I didn’t have an orange, either, but I had some orange sections (I bought the orange a week or so ago because I needed zest, and I was putting the leftover orange sections on my salads.) so I just squeezed a couple of them into the pot.

It gets better the longer it sits, too, as the flavors blend together. It should be better leftover. It’s a good thing, since I halved this recipe and it still made a huge batch.

It gets bonus points for being fast and easy, too. Chop everything up and add it to a pot. Simmer for about 20 minutes until the vegetables begin to soften and you’re done.

IMG_3488

Best way to enjoy Italian food. Leisurely and with wine.

IMG_3483 IMG_3484 IMG_3486

Leave a Reply

