PROJECT RECIPE: Green tomato spaghetti

IMG_3624

I found this recipe for Green Tomato Spaghetti a while back and thought it sounded interesting, since I’ve never heard of anyone using green tomatoes for anything but frying.

I never got around to making it earlier in the summer when the first green tomatoes appear. At that point, I was just so happy to have them, I fried them left and right.

I forgot that you end up at the end of the summer with a bunch of green tomatoes when they fall off the plants and the vines slow down a bit. It was perfect, since I had something to do with the pile of them I have.

IMG_3623

I had a couple green roma tomatoes that had fallen off the plant, which were perfect since they are pretty meaty and don’t have a lot of seeds. I used three other slicer tomatoes given to me by my father in law.

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: Keeper! The whole dish came together in under 30 minutes. And is a good way to use up green tomatoes at the end of the season. The most important thing–it’s SO tasty! The one thing I would do differently next time is half the pasta. A whole pound is too much. It probably made 5 large servings, and it wasn’t as saucy as I would have liked it. Next time, I’ll use a half a pound and have saucier pasta with fewer leftovers.

IMG_3627

Mine is not as pretty as Mario Batali’s, but it sure was tasty!

I just love Mario Batali, and it looks like there are a ton of other delicious recipes on his page for The Chew.

One thought on “PROJECT RECIPE: Green tomato spaghetti

Leave a Reply

