PROJECT RECIPE: Blueberry Avocado Muffins

I was intrigued when I saw this recipe for Blueberry Avocado Muffins from the Gimme Some Oven blog. Who wouldn’t be? Blueberries and avocado?

So I printed it. And this week, I had one way overripe avocado and some fresh blueberries that needed used STAT. Game on!

IMG_3676

Mine aren’t nearly as pretty, but they sure are tasty.

The thing I love about this recipe is that the avocado basically replaces the oil in your average recipe. I always use applesauce in place of oil in muffin recipes, but the avocado is a nice way to change it up. Avocados are high in fat, but it’s the kind of fat that is healthy.

My muffins didn’t have the green hue the ones on the Gimme Some Oven blog did. But the kinda nice thing about these, is that no one would guess there’s avocado in there–which is good when you have someone who doesn’t think they like avocado but you know they really do, they just don’t know it. I know a couple people like that.

IMG_3677

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: Keeper. Tasty and healthy! Bonus points! I’m always on the lookout for breakfast that you can grap on the way out the door in the mornings. This was a nice way to use up a lonesome overripe avocado that got left behind in the fridge.

How I changed the recipe: Well, I forgot to make the strudel topping until after I put them in te oven. So, I did the lazy way of topping muffins and melted some butter, and once they cooled a little, I dipped them in the butter then rolled them in cinnamon and sugar. I also added about 1/3 cup of milk to the batter because it was super thick, like cement consistency, so I was afraid they would be too dry after they baked.

Give these a try–even if you’re not sure blueberries and avocado go together. You wouldn’t even know the avocado is in there!

Leave a Reply

