PROJECT RECIPE: Mushroom Stout and Goat Cheese Potpie

I love this time of year for so many reasons, but mostly because it means the return of comfort food! I mean, sure, you can eat hearty casseroles and soups in the summer, but they just aren’t that appetizing. When the air gets a little crisper and the leaves start to fall, I cannot wait for the return of casseroles, soups, mac and cheese and pot pies!

Stout is one of my favorite kinds of beer (they are all pretty much my favorite, actually). I don’t really drink it in the summer much for the same reason I don’t eat heavy casseroles. But now, I’m finding my way back to the stout section in the beer aisle. And when I saw this recipe for Mushroom Stout Goat Cheese Potpie on The Beeroness’s Blog, I was curious. Throw in some goat cheese, and I was sold!

IMG_3823

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: Keeper! When I took the first bite, I was a little surprised. You can really taste the flavor of the beer, and I wasn’t really expecting that. I wasn’t sure I liked it, but after a couple bites, I decided I definitely did. It was just a little unexpected that the flavor came through so strong. Granted, I did replace the vegetable stock with beer, so maybe next time I won’t do that. The whole dish came together really quickly–perfect for a cold wintery weeknight dinner.

How I changed the recipe: I halved it. Because I halved it, I replaced the vegetable stock with beer because I didn’t want to waste it (Isn’t that usually the part of the recipe where you just finish drinking it? But I’m counting calories now.) I also used a black lager instead of a stout because that’s what I had at home. I also made it in a pie dish instead of individual bowls. The recipe doesn’t specify how long to bake it, but I baked it for 20 minutes, and the crust was perfectly flaky and golden brown.

This dish was meatless, but honestly, you wouldn’t notice. It was packed full of vegetables and the dark beer and mushrooms gave it a nice roasty beefy quality. I served it with some mashed potatoes, which made it a really hearty fall dinner.

IMG_3822

Bring on the comfort food recipes, it’s fall!

By the way, I’ve written about The Beeroness’s recipes on PROJECT RECIPE before. She’s got a cookbook now. You should def check it out. I haven’t yet, but I’m planning to. I absolutely love the blog.

I mentioned I’m counting calories. According to my Lose It! app, this recipe (with the modifications I made) was 376 calories per serving. That’s pretty good considering how hearty and comfort food-y it was.

One thought on “PROJECT RECIPE: Mushroom Stout and Goat Cheese Potpie

Leave a Reply

