PROJECT RECIPE: Kale and Spaghetti Squash Gratin

Last week, a good friend (Hi, Tiff!) sent me several winter squashes. Luckily, I was planning to make this recipe for Kale and Spaghetti Squash Gratin, so the timing was perfect. This recipe was one I had printed a while back, and put in my binder. I found it on Pinterest, but I can’t find the exact pin now. (I thought Pinterest was supposed to keep us all organized…) However, here is a link to the same recipe on a different website.

IMG_3817

This bad boy was pretty big!

This recipe would be a great way to try spaghetti squash for the first time if you’re new to it. I was unsure of spaghetti squash the first time I tried it, so I used copious amounts of butter and cheese. You put enough butter or cheese on anything and you could eat it. That’s my belief, anyway.

IMG_3819

The aftermath. Scrape all the “meat” out of the skin using a fork. It comes out pretty easily.

This is a vegetarian recipe, so it’s perfect for Meatless Monday.

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: Keeper. After a couple times, I get tired of eating spaghetti squash like, well, spaghetti. I’ve only ever eaten it with sauce on it–usually pesto. This is a nice way to mix it up. It kinda resembles rice in this gratin recipe. It’s a great way to use up a large spaghetti squash, especially for “first timers.” This could be your gateway recipe for spaghetti squash. It reheats nicely, too. The leftovers were just as yummy as the original meal.

IMG_3820

How I changed the recipe: I used a chopped kale “salad” mix that had shredded red cabbage and carrots in it. It was a nice addition. I think if I make it again and use a bunch of kale, I will add some veggies like carrots and cabbage to it. It made it really pretty actually. I also threw in a handful of chopped arugula because I had some leftover from another dish. It added a nice little bite of flavor to it. I also used 1/4 cup more cheese. More cheese is never a bad thing. You could change up the ingredients, like using fontina or monterey jack instead of parmesan. Both would be more gooey than parm. Also, I think carmelized onions would be great mixed in this.

I still couldn’t get the Hubs to try it. He’s not a fan of spaghetti squash. He’d grabbed dinner on his way home Monday, anyway. I think he might like it as a cheesy gratin dish, though. Who doesn’t like cheesy gratins? And this is a nice way to use up a big spaghetti squash.

Leave a Reply

