PROJECT RECIPE: Crunchy Black Bean Tacos

Any time I see the words crunchy and cheese in the same sentence, my stomach starts growling a little. So you can see why I pinned this recipe on Pinterest for Crunchy Black Bean Tacos from Endless Simmer. Let’s just get it out of the way: These. Were. Amazing. They did not disappoint my cheesy crunchy cravings.

Seriously. This is for real. I’m usually kinda passive about pushing recipes I try in PROJECT RECIPE, but these crunchy cheesy tacos warrant agressive action. Click the link. Print the recipe. Make these tacos!

IMG_3828 PROJECT RECIPE verdict: Def a keeper! Gawd, these were so tasty. I could’ve eaten them all, but I held off at two. Actually, they were very fililng. All that healthy bean fiber. Good stuff. Also, they were pretty quick to make. Which was clutch since I had to work late, and was starving when I got home. I had them on a plate in about 30 minutes, but it would’ve been quicker if I would have cut a few corners.

How I changed the recipe: I substituted a few things to give these my own spin. I used green onions because I didn’t have any red onions and I had a bunch of green ones that needed used or I would have to throw them out. I also used coconut oil instead of olive oil because I thought it would give them a nice sweet flavor. Which it did, and that mixed nicely with the smoked paprika I substituted for regular. Smokey sweet crunchy goodness. I also just used regular monterey jack instead of pepper jack.

The one thing they were missing was something spicy. Next time, I’ll add a dash or two of cayenne pepper when I add the other spices.

IMG_3824

A pastry cutter was perfect for mashing up the beans with the onions and cilantro.

IMG_3825

Literally, the hardest thing about making these tacos was flipping them. It was a little unwieldy to do it carefully without burning my fingers or spilling out all the filling. The second hardest thing was waiting for them to get done.

IMG_3826

This may be the best recipe I’ve made in PROJECT RECIPE. I’m not even exaggerating. They were that good. You definitely need to try these. The Hubs is not a big fan of black beans, but he’s out of town for work. I think he might actually  like these, though. Seriously, they’re spicy, cheesy and crunchy, and totally addictive. I cannot wait for lunch, just so I can have the leftovers.

2 thoughts on “PROJECT RECIPE: Crunchy Black Bean Tacos

  1. Pingback: Sweet Potato and Goat Cheese Tacos | Delicious Potager

Leave a Reply

