The Saddest Day of the Year

The saddest day of the year is the last day for produce stands at the local farmer’s market.

IMG_3853

I turned and snapped this picture as I was leaving. I always go the last week to see what’s marked down for quick sale, and I feel kinda bad about that. I know the farmers don’t make a lot of money doing what they’re doing, but I do love a bargain. I did that this year. I have to hold myself back from buying as much as I can pack into my car since the produce stands won’t be back until May or June. I just want to hold onto that last little bit of Indian Summer by buying up winter squashes, peppers, tomatoes, and whatever else the farmers have spread out.

This year, I bought a half bushel of tomatoes to can. I already canned tomatoes back in August, but I felt like I needed more… squirrel mentality, I guess. I also picked up several beets that were marked down. I’ve never made pickled beets before, but the Hubs really likes them, and they can’t be that hard to make. Mom and I found a recipe in the Ball Blue Book that was pretty simple.

IMG_3834

Be prepared for your kitchen to look like you murdered someone. Making pickled beets is messy. Actually, anytime you cut open a beet, things get pretty messy. But they make beautiful jars.

IMG_3835

These beets are delicious. I’ve only recently discovered I liked beets. I like them much better roasted than I do pickled, but you can’t beat these beets (did you see what I did there? Har har) on a salad. They pair especially well with tangy goat cheese and honey mustard dressing.

008

 

I think I have enough pints of these to last me until the farmers market opens back up for produce. That day can never get here soon enough.

2 thoughts on “The Saddest Day of the Year

  1. LOVE BEETS just in general and we make our own pickled beets also… I also love ones boiled in a thick citrus glaze…. wish I had been thier with you I didnt get to the last day at are market like I had wanted to…. bummer.

Leave a Reply

