PROJECT RECIPE: Chickpea and Butternut Squash Curry

I am constantly looking for new recipes for Meatless Monday. I love to cook vegetarian dishes, although I’m not a vegetarian. I think they are usually more flavorful because there’s usually so many darn ingredients, particularly in vegetarian one-pot dishes like this one.

I am also a late fan of curries. It was only a few years ago I warmed up to actually eating them, and it took me getting my first curry cookbook to really dive into making them myself. This one did not disappoint.

I found this recipe for Chickpea and Butternut Squash on Pinterest. I’m not gonna lie, it was the picture that drew me in. It just looks so warm and hearty and cozy in that iron skillet. Seriously, click on the link and check it out. If this isn’t an example of photography driving traffic to your site and the power of social media, I don’t know what would be. It looks so tasty, I just want to grab a fork and take a bite.

021

Mine isn’t nearly as pretty, but I’m sure it’s no less delicious. I think this will be one of those dishes that gets better when it’s been leftover, giving the flavors time to blend together.

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: Def a keeper. This seems like it’s pretty healthy and a nice way to do Meatless Monday. If you’re tired of doing the same old things with butternut squash, this recipe is sure to shake up your usual rotation. I’m a fan of savory butternut squash dishes, rather than sweet ones (and that’s true for pumpkin and sweet potatoes, too). This curry has just a little bit of heat to balance out the sweetness from the squash and coconut nicely.

How I changed the recipe: I only used half a small butternut squash because it looked like that was enough as I was cutting it up. I also only used one onion instead of two. I added some red pepper flakes, and when I make it agian, I’ll likely add more, as I think it would have been good with just a little more heat. The Hubs topped his with Sriracha, like he doesn’t pretty much everything.

022

It was pretty quick to make once I got the butternut squash peeled and diced up. That took a little bit of time.

Special shout out to my BFF, Erinn, who bought me several napkins for Christmas after listening to me complain I didn’t really have anything colorful to use for my blog. They are a nice change. Gotta love a friend who listens and takes mental notes!

Leave a Reply

