PROJECT RECIPE: Salisbury Steak for Grown-Ups

The title of this recipe made me giggle. I guess that salisbury steak has been relegated to lunch trays around the country (or maybe before the Child Nutrition Act was reauthorized). I have no stronger context of salisbury steak from my life than from school menus. I was dubious then. I think it was just the previous day’s hamburger patties doused in brown gravy.

I was curious where the dish originated from, so I looked it up on Wikipedia. There’s a fascinating article explaining that it was invented by a physician who was a proponent of the low-carb diet for weight loss. Oddly enough, that’s where I’m living now… Not low-carb, per se, just no refined carbs like bread, sugar or rice. Just for two weeks to kick me back into gear.

So, I ran across this recipe on the Nourished Kitchen blog. Anytime I see that a recipe uses grass-fed beef, I am intrigued. Sure, it’s getting more mainstream, but seeing it in a recipe tells me the person who developed it really cares about food–taste and integrity. And those are good things to care about in my book.

I wish I had gotten a better picture. I was hungry, yo.

I wish I had gotten a better picture. I was hungry, yo.

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: I added it to my permanent collection. Ground beef is so versatile, but it’s easy to get tired of eating it the same way. It’s nice to a have repertiore of ground beef recipes, and this one is a nice addition to that. It was fairly quick and easy and makes a nice weeknight dinner.

How I changed the recipe: I used dried onion instead of shallots simply because I had that and shallots are like $3.99 for 3 at the grocery store. That’s absurd. I also used a whole egg instead of an egg yolk because I was too lazy to separate it and freeze the white. I also didn’t clarify the butter. I just used it straight up. Again, I was lazy. Instead of beef stock, I used venison stock, also because that is what I had on hand. They’re virtually interchangeable.

As a side note, the Nourished Kitchen is a really awesome blog all about cooking healthy whole foods. The blog is based on Weston Price‘s ideas that eating whole foods leads to a longer healthier life. He studied indigenous populations in remote parts of the world that had not been industrialized, and found that their health was markedly better than that of industrialized populations. One of the big take-aways I’ve gotten from this blog are the benefits of bone-based broths. Bone broths are practically a super-food, and so healthy to eat, especially this time of year. It really is true what they say about chicken soup (but only if it’s homemade).

2 thoughts on “PROJECT RECIPE: Salisbury Steak for Grown-Ups

Leave a Reply

