PROJECT RECIPE: Curried Corn and Cheddar Chowder

Curried Corn and Cheddar Chowder. Say that three times fast.

019

I’m pretty sure I was browsin’ Pinterest when I stumbled on this Curried Corn and Cheddar Chowder recipe. It sounded yummy, plus I had everything needed to make it. I love it when that happens. It’s almost like it was meant to be. Meant to be in my belly, that is.

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: The Hubs summed it up best. He texted me at lunch when he was eating this soup, and said “Holy sh*t. This soup will change your life.” So, yeah. It’s a keeper.

How I changed the recipe: Instead of hot water, I used 4 cups of corn stock. Corn stock is so easy to make and freeze, and when you use it in soups or risotto, it just ups the flavor like using chicken stock or something. I also didn’t add the roux at the end. And I shredded the cheddar as opposed to cutting it into cubes. I figured it’d melt faster. Also, 1 1/2 pounds of frozen corn kernels turned out to be about 4 cups.

I had all the stuff to make this because I froze some corn (and corn stock) that I bought right around the last few days the farmers market was open last October. I love corn chowder, and I have a really good recipe, but it calls for bacon. Sadly, my bacon supplier is out of commission. Sandy Creek Farms had a fire in their smokehouse this spring, and is currently not producing any bacon. I have been in serious withdrawal since I ran out this winter. I hope they reopen sometime soon. My corn and corn stock was just patiently waiting it out in my freezer, and this recipe helped me get a few more containers out to make room for summer vegetables. And this vegetarian version of corn chowder just knocked off my go-to recipe with bacon. I’ll definitely be making this again when corn comes back in season in a couple months.

Seriously, you should click through the link to the recipe above or find it on pinterest and make this soup. It will probably change your life.

Leave a Reply

