It’s Salad Season!

It’s salad season. Finally.

Although I’ve resorted to buying questionable salad greens from the grocery store during the winter months, it’s so nice to be getting them fresh from the farmers market and even picking them from my backyard.

I’ve been buying a spinach arugula mix from Brynside Branch Farm through the Monroe Farm Market for the past couple weeks. It’s amazing. And the spinach in my garden has been growing like gangbusters, so I’ve mixed it in as well.

IMG_4387

This was my lunch last weekend–the mother of all salads. Sometimes just a salad as a meal won’t keep me full, so I’ve been adding some avocado to bulk it up a bit. And, the more veggies you throw on the better–fresh radishes from the farmers market, beets I canned last fall, grape tomatoes and olives. I even added hemp seeds for some crunch. I only just bought some of these–I’m still trying to figure out what to use them in. They are great on salads, though. Hemp seeds are one of the only plant sources that contain ALL of the essential amino acids. Don’t worry–you can’t plant them and grow weed.

I haven’t bought salad dressing for over a year. Once I realized the store-bought stuff is just loaded with sodium, sugar and plenty of wonky chemicals and preservatives, I started making my own. And homemade tastes amazingly better anyway. Seriously, the sky’s the limit when it comes to making your own. The combinations are endless.

I had a little bit of tahini left from making hummus a couple months ago, and I figured it was only a matter of time before it went bad, so I started with that as a base. The tahini reminds me of Mediterranean food, so I added some garlic and red wine vinegar to just continue down that path.

Mediterranean Tahini Vinaigrette (4 servings)

  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 3 Tb red wine vinegar
  • 1 Tb extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 Tb (about 3 cloves) garlic, minced
  • pinch of kosher salt
  • dash of pepper

Mix everything in a jar and shake vigorously. Will keep in a jar in the fridge for 1 week or so. It doesn’t look like the most appetizing salad dressing ever, but it is packed with flavor.

IMG_4391

 

Leave a Reply

