PROJECT RECIPE: Detox Tabbouleh

When I saw this recipe a while back, I had in mind to make it when we got back from Vegas. I figured it’d be a good idea to do anything with the word “detox” in it upon returning. It is Vegas, after all.

But, I never got around to making it. Faced with a head of cauliflower that would need to be thrown out if I didn’t use it soon, I figured I might as well seize the moment. I hate it that I waited so long, because who cares if this is “detox” tabbouleh. It should be called “delicious” tabbouleh.

IMG_4604

Tabbouleh is a Middle Eastern dish made of bulgur or couscous, chopped tomatoes, parsley, garlic, olive oil and lemon juice. It’s considered a salad, but I think it’s best eaten with hummus and pita bread. There was a place here in Charleston, Murad’s, that used to have the best hummus and tabbouleh, that has since closed. I haven’t had any since, and when I saw this recipe, I remembered how much I liked theirs and missed it. This definitely did not disappoint.

The recipe is from the Oh She Glows website. I love that blog. It’s filled to the brim with pictures and recipes of mostly vegetarian and vegan dishes that are absolutely drool-worthy. I visit it frequently for Meatless Monday inspiration. I think I found it originally through Pinterest. It just goes to show the power of beautiful photographs that draw us in.

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: It’s a keeper. It makes a huge batch, actually, and it gets better leftover. The flavors just blend more and more. Even the Hubs, who was skeptical, was won over. And who wouldn’t be? Spicy parsley and juicy tomatoes and the tang of red wine vinegar. It’s a good thing it’s healthy, because the only thing that stopped us was running out of pita bread to eat it with.

How I changed the recipe: I omitted the hulled hemp seeds because I didn’t have any. Also, I didn’t quite use 3/4 cup of cilantro because I simply got tired of cutting it up. I hate cutting up cilantro. I added about a tablespoon of minced garlic. I also added a couple dashes of black pepper.

IMG_4601

 The cauliflower takes the place of the bulgur or couscous in this recipe, making it lower in calories and healthier. Because cauliflower is sorta mild tasting, you don’t even notice that you’re not eating couscous.

Click the link above to check out the recipe (and that awesome website) for yourself. When I was making it, I was thinking that it could be a huge waste of a head of cauliflower, since I love to make roasted curry cauliflower, and that’s what I usually do when I have a whole head to use. But this is pretty darn good, and great for summer, since I didn’t have to heat up my house with the oven roasting the cauliflower. It would be great for a pot luck or cookout, too, since you wouldn’t have to worry about keeping it chilled. It would surely be an unexpected crowd-pleaser! I’ll definitely make it again.

Leave a Reply

