A Rhubarita and Rhubarb Muffins

So, last week, I stumbled on this post on pinterest for rhubaritas from the local kitchen blog.

Yummy. I love rhubarb. And tequila. Makes perfect sense to put them together. Rhubarb is kinda tangy and sour-ish, but when you add the sugar, many folks compare it to the taste of strawberries. It’s a perfect flavor to pair with tequila blanco in my opinion, so I couldn’t wait to try this.

Actually, I love margaritas, but sometimes the mix leaves something to be desired. Sometimes it just tastes funny to me. Especially when it’s made with artificial flavors, colors and high fructose corn syrup (most of what you can buy is). So, naturally (no pun intended…) this recipe appealed to me.

And it was so pretty.

IMG_4612

No artificial colors, and it was this beautiful shade of bubble gum pink. Real food, folks.

At any rate, to make this delicious cocktail, you need to cook down some rhubarb to make rhubeena. That’s basically rhubarb juice and sugar. It’s yummy, by the way.

So, I had a pound of rhubarb that I bought from the Monroe Farm Market, and I figured no better way to use it that by mixing it with tequila. Unfortunately, the recipe for rhubeena (available through the link on the local kitchen blog) called for four pounds of rhubarb. Eh, I figured I’d just have a little less, no big deal. But one pound of rhubarb only made me about a cup of rhubeena. Boo.

IMG_4587

In order to get the rhubeena, you need to strain out the pulp after the rhubarb cooks down. When I did that I was left with about a cup and half of rhubarb pulp, and it seemed like such a shame just to throw it out. I decided I could use it in place of (and then some) my usual applesauce in my usual muffin recipe. I played with the spices a little bit and got this sweet and spicy crumbly muffin.

IMG_4611

A couple weeks back, I ordered a jumbo muffin pan from Amazon. I love it. But, I know, I know… the thing that is wrong with America is our ginormous portion sizes. But this is a weekend treat. (We’ve stuck with the smoothie routine on weekdays). Six jumbo muffins are perfect for the weekend. A couple for breakfast and maybe a late afternoon snack with an iced coffee, or dessert after dinner.

At any rate, I thought I’d share the recipe with you. Rhubarb is only here for a short season, so enjoy it while you can.

Rhubarb Wheat Germ Muffins (adapted from Betty Crocker’s Bridal Cookbook)

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used almond)
  • 1 1/4 cups of rhubarb pulp or rhubarb compote (recipe below)
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 Tb cold butter
  • 1/4 cup wheat germ
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of kosher salt

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a large bowl, mix the egg, milk and rhubarb compote. Add the flour, baking powder, salt 1 tsp of cinnamon, ginger and sugar, and mix well only after adding all the dry ingredients. In a small bowl, cut the wheat germ, 1/4 cup brown sugar, cinnamon, sugar and salt into the butter with a pastry cutter or with two butter knives until the butter is pea-sized and well blended. Grease a nonstick muffin pan with butter or coconut oil. Divide the batter evenly into the muffin cups and top each one with the butter mixture. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes for jumbo muffins or 20 minutes for regular. Makes 6 jumbo or 12 regular muffins.

Rhubarb Compote Makes about 1 1/2 cups

  • 1 pound rhubarb stalks, diced into 1/2 pieces
  • 1/3 cup sugar (you can add more if you want it sweeter)
  • 1 Tb lemon juice

Add all ingredients to a medium sauce pan and cover. Cook on medium low heat until the rhubarb breaks down, about 20-ish minutes. Stir occasionally, to keep it from sticking. It should have a chunky applesauce consistency. You can freeze the leftover for another batch of scones or it’s great on plain yogurt.

(I’ve shared this recipe for rhubarb compote last year here, when I used it in rhubarb scones.)

The pinch of salt in the crumble topping is an unexpected twist to these dense muffins. You can always sub out the wheat germ for flour, it’s just that I have a lot of wheat germ that I never use, so I’m always trying to find ways to work it in. It’s a nice texture for the crumble topping.

Enjoy, but hurry with the little bit of rhubarb season that is left!

3 thoughts on “A Rhubarita and Rhubarb Muffins

  1. Makes me wonder if juicing it would’nt work out better for more volume and then add it to symple syrup? If I get my hands on some Rhubarb, I will test my theory out and let you know! Cheers!!!

Leave a Reply

