So I made perfume.

You guys remember a few weeks back when I wrote that post about body products? And how I mentioned that one of my vices is wearing perfume every day (the others are good cheese and House of Cards)?

I finally used up all of what I was wearing at the time, and decided to try my hand at making my own. I have to say, it doesn’t suck. It smells really nice, actually.

IMG_4580

I started out by going to my local health foods store and smelling all the essential oils to decide what I really liked. I LOOOOVED the jasmine essential oil. I could have probably used it alone and been good with it. I also liked the cedar wood, but it didn’t jive with the jasmine, and I wanted to mix a few to make my own signature scent.

They even sold little roller bottles (and dropper bottles and atomizers) right by the essential oils, and several other supplies you might need. I noticed they also were selling grapeseed “carrier” oil, also. I had some at home that I use for cooking and making body scrub, so I asked the guy at the health foods store, and he said the grapeseed carrier oil was the same stuff that is sold for cooking.

I also already had lavender and eucalyptus essential oil at home that I use for other stuff (cleaning and making sugar body scrub. So, at the store I tested out the jasmine with both, and they seemed to compliment each other nicely. I had my blend.

I did a search online for a basic how-to. There are tons of them out there. But the process was pretty common sense. Some instructions say to use alcohol to dilute the oils, but I didn’t want to use it simply because it is very drying for skin. Here’s how I did it:

You will need:

  • 2 Tb. carrier oil (grapeseed, sweet almond, jojoba or other neutral-smelling oil)
  • essential oils for the base notes, middle notes and top notes (or whatever combo suits you)
  • Small dark-colored glass bottle

Add the carrier oil to the bottle. Start by adding the base notes. Add around 5 or 6 drops of the dominant oil. In the world of perfume, these are sometimes the more strong scents like musk or frankincense. Add 4 or drops of the middle notes. These could be the more floral scents. Then add 2-3 drops of the oil you want as the top note. These are more delicate, and compliment the other two. Of course, you can just blend it however you like it, and not worry about what is a base note and what is a top note. I certainly endorse this process. Start by adding a few drops of each initially and shake well. If you feel like you need a little more of one, add a drop or two and shake again until you get the scent you want.

The next batch I make, I do plan to use alcohol mixed with the oils. This doesn’t last all day like perfumes I’ve bought. I think the alcohol might actually make it last longer.

I’ve been wearing this for a week, and I love it. It’s a truly unique perfume. I buy into all that hoodoo about pheromones and how perfumes smell differently on different people. The science behind smell is serious business, too. Retail stores are experimenting with scent diffusers to trigger the parts of a customer’s brain associated with a positive experience, and ultimately spend more. It’s well established that scents and memory are closely related. When we smell something familiar from our past, memories are triggered more vividly than with any other sensory interaction. Sometimes when I smell a perfume that I used to wear long ago, I remember those times. CK One will always remind me of high school. Maybe sometime long into the future, when I get a whiff of jasmine, I’ll think of this summer and this time in my life.

Leave a Reply

