National Ice Cream Sandwich Day

Saturday morning, I was scanning my twitter feed, and I saw it was National Ice Cream Sandwich Day. So, I decided to make some. Just like that.

I have an ice cream maker that I hardly ever use. I always say I should use it more. So, here was my chance.  I flipped through the booklet the came with it. I knew I wanted to do something a little different. Not just the classic.

How about Mexican Chocolate Ice Cream Sandwiches? Mexican chocolate has cinnamon and cayenne in it. A little edgy and dangerous.

I actually found a recipe for ice cream sandwiches in the booklet that came with my ice cream maker. But, I decided to change it up a little to suit my taste. Here’s what I made:

Mexican Chocolate Ice Cream Sandiwches (makes 10 sandwiches) Adapted from Cuisinart

For the cookies:

  • 1/3 c. cocoa powder
  • 1 1/3 c. cake flour
  • 3/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp .salt
  • 1 tsp. espresso powder
  • 8 Tb (1/2 c.) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 large egg

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Whisk together the cocoa powder, flour, baking powder, salt and espresso powder in a small bowl. Put the butter in the the bowl of a stand mixer and cream the sugar into the butter with the paddle attachment on medium speed. Mix until smooth and pale yellow. Add the egg and mix until fully incorporated. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the mixture, and mix until combined. The dough will be very dry.

006

 

Scoop about two tbsp. of dough per cookie onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper.  Flatten each cookie with a cup into a flat circle about 3 inches in diameter.

007

Bake for about 20 minutes. The cookies will still be soft to the touch. Let the cookies cool completely.

For the ice cream:

  • 2 c. whole milk
  • 1 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne
  • 2/3 c. sugar, divided
  • 5 large egg yolks
  • 2 ounces bittersweet chocolate
  • 2 ounces 100% cacao chocolate

Combine the milk, cream, spices and half the sugar in a medium sauce pan on medium heat. Whisk and bring to a simmer. Combine the yolks and remaining sugar in a stand mixer, and mix until pale yellow and thick. Chop the chocolate into small chunks and place in a medium bowl.

I hate chopping chocolate. It seems to always make a huge mess.

I hate chopping chocolate. It seems to always make a huge mess.

Whisk about 1/3 cup of the milk mixture into the yolk mixture. Add about another 1/3 cup of the milk mixture and beat until smooth.  Then, add all of the yolk mixture to the milk mixture in the saucepan.

010

Stir constantly with a wooden spoon until the mixture thickens and coats the back of the spoon. This should only take a few minutes. Do not bring to a boil or the eggs will begin to set.

011

Pour the mixture through a mesh strainer onto the chopped chocolate. Whisk until completely mixed. Refrigerate two hours. Pour mixture into an ice cream maker. Process about twenty minutes until the mixture thickens and begins to set. Pour into a container and freezer for two hours.

013

Once the ice cream is set, scoop about 1/2 cup of the ice cream onto a cookie and press the other cookie down on top. Wrap each sandwich in plastic wrap and freeze about 20 minutes to refreeze the ice cream. Enjoy!

015

 

Wow, these were good. Like way better than I figured they would be. Addictive good. The only thing that kept me from devouring them was that I didn’t make all them into sandwiches. I only made three to start. It’s a good thing.

You could make this without the ice cream machine, but the consistency of your ice cream might be a little more dense. That would make it hard to scoop. This is already pretty hard to scoop, as it is a custard style ice cream. Yes, ice cream machines are kinda a specialized piece of kitchen equipment that will take up space in your cabinet. But, I say, you just have to find excuses to use it, like National Ice Cream Sandwich Day.

016

3 thoughts on “National Ice Cream Sandwich Day

Leave a Reply

