Duck Eggs!

Last week, the Hubs came home from work with a surprise for me. He was helping a landowner who had chickens and ducks. They got to chatting about fresh eggs, and she gave him six duck eggs to try. We’ve never had duck eggs, and I couldn’t wait to try them.

One was cracked, so I figured it would be best to scramble it. That is what I love about this time of year. Putting fresh veggies in scrambled eggs. I just used what I had in the fridge. I had some poblano peppers, goat cheese, onions, garlic and cilantro. Throw in some potatoes, and you’ve got a pretty fancy hash, if I do say so myself.

027

These suckers are huge. I thought the yolks would be more yellow than store-bought chicken eggs, but it depends on what they eat, I think. At least that’s the case with chickens. Chickens that are free range lay eggs with deep yellow yolks because they eat lots of bugs and grubs rather than only feed. I don’t know what these ducks had been eating. The yolks weren’t super rich, but they were double the size of a chicken egg yolk.

028

Honestly, I couldn’t tell much difference in taste with chicken eggs. The good thing is that two eggs go a lot farther when it’s duck eggs. This hash is super easy and full of flavor. You can use chicken eggs just like I did with duck eggs.

Poblano and Cheese Breakfast Scramble (serves 2)

  • 1 tb extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 and onion, diced
  • 2 poblano peppers, seeded and diced
  • 3 medium potatoes, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 large (chicken) eggs
  • pinch of baking powder
  • 2 tb whole milk
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, shredded (I changed my mind once I started cooking)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • sour cream and cilantro for serving

In a large skillet, heat olive oil until hot. Add potatoes, season with salt and pepper, and stir well. Turn heat to medium and put a tight fitting lid on the skillet. Check every few minutes to make sure they aren’t sticking, and stir. When the potatoes are tender and have a bit of brown crust on them (about 10 minutes), add the onion and pepper. You might have to add a little more oil. Stir well, and cook for a few minutes until the onion and peppers begin to soften. Add the garlic and cumin. Crack the eggs into a small bowl and whisk a few times to break the yolks. Add the baking powder and whisk vigorously until it’s completely incorporated. Add the milk and whisk to mix thoroughly. Add the eggs to the potato mixture. Wait a few seconds, then move the potato mixture around with a spatula. You’ll have to keep turning it over and over to get it browned and done. When it looks like the eggs are set, add the cheese and stir well. Serve hot with a scoop of sour cream and chopped cilantro.

\duck eggs scramble

This is so yummy. It’s just the right amount of heat and bite from the peppers–not too overpowering. The eggs and cheese make it rich, and the potatoes have a bit of crunchy bits on some of them. If you’re not a fan of sweet stuff for breakfast, this is right in your wheelhouse. And actually, I wouldn’t have even realized I was eating duck eggs if I didn’t know.

duck eggs scramble (2)

You could use what ever veggies you have on hand to make this. It would be great with sweet peppers, tomatoes, even throw in some spinach if you have some. I might even go as far as kale. Hmm, I might need to try that with the goat cheese next weekend. I have four more duck eggs after all.

Leave a Reply

