PROJECT RECIPE: Spicy Tofu Hotpot

I found this recipe for Spicy Tofu Hotpot on Pinterest, and because I love slurpy Asian noodles of any kind, I decided to make it.

065

It was worth it.

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: Keeper. I was skeptical because it doesn’t have any fancy exotic ingredients, but it was soooo tasty. It hit all those umami notes. And it was super easy and on the table in no time. Perfect for weeknights. Like perhaps Meatless Monday. And it was pretty healthy, to boot.

How I changed the recipe: I didn’t have lo mein. All I had was linguini, so that’s what I had to use. Also, I used chicken stock because I was making some in the slow cooker from the carcass left from the coq au vin I made earlier in the week. That added lots of flavor, but I’m sure it would have been good with vegetable stock. Also, I didn’t have any fresh ginger–had to use the powder. All these things apparently didn’t take away from the dish a bit, as it was delicious. For the chili garlic sauce, I used Sriracha.

If you are new to Asian cooking, this would be a great recipe to start with. It didn’t take any hard-to-find ingredients. Bok choy is found in the the produce section pretty regularly, and if you can’t find it, you could use any bitter green like kale, which is easy to find.

063

064

Actually, the bok choy was from one of the Hubs’s coworkers who grew bok choy in his garden this summer. He was sick of eating so much of it, so he brought him two bunches. I gladly accepted it. Homegrown free bok choy? That’s a no-brainer.

065

The recipe says it serves six, but I’d say it’s more like four for a meal. Nonetheless, I cannot wait to have the leftovers. It’s a glowing endorsement anytime you are looking forward to leftovers, in my book. Click the link at the beginning of the post to get the link to the recipe and try this one yourself.

Leave a Reply

