Noelle’s Salmon

So, just a couple weeks ago, a coworker was telling me about her “super secret Sunday salmon” recipe. It was something she came up with because she grows bronze fennel. It’s a close relative (like really close) to the fennel they sell at the grocery store.

I happen to have everything I needed to make her recipe in my fridge (and pantry). So, I figured I’d give it a go.

It was delicious. Too delicious not to share with you. Sorry, Noelle, the recipe is secret no more.

I didn’t have any bronze fennel. But I did have the leftover fronds from when I made Caramelized Fennel Mac and Cheese. It was still delicious. I imagine even more so with the more pronounced flavor of bronze fennel.

Noelle’s Salmon (2 servings)

  • 3 Tb extra virgin olive oil
  • 3 Tb fennel fronds, chopped finely
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 Tb brown sugar
  • dash of kosher salt and pepper
  • 2-5 oz. filets of salmon

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Mix all the ingredients except for the salmon in a small bowl. Brush the mixture over the salmon filets and let sit in you refrigerator for 30 minutes. Put it in the oven and bake for 18-ish minutes. It is done when it flakes easily with a fork.

I couldn’t take credit for this recipe. My coworker is the genius behind the sweet and spicy flavor of this salmon. I see why it’s her Sunday salmon go-to recipe.

Try it!

034

Leave a Reply

