PROJECT RECIPE: Slow Cooker French Dip Sandwiches

Now that there’s a half a cow in my freezer, any time I find a recipe using beef roast, I’m all over it. Because you can eat regular ol’ beef roast only so many times. And for the Hubs, that’s not very many times.

I need to mix it up when it comes to beef roasts, and it’s a bonus when I can use my slow cooker to do all the heavy lifting. I found this recipe for Slow Cooker Beef Brisket French Dip Sandwiches on Pinterest. Honestly, it was the pictures that pulled me right in. Don’t you just wanna take a bite of that crusty bread and gooey cheese?

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: Keeper! I love quick and easy, and what could be easier than making dinner in a slow cooker? Plus, sandwiches are a great way to do something different with a beef roast, or get another dinner out of the leftovers. The flavors of the au jus were so deep and rich, too, I think because of the wine. Mine didn’t look as pretty as Neighborfood’s, but they were still pretty dang good.

french dip beef roast slow cooker

How I changed the recipe: I didn’t use brisket. I used rolled roast. Also, instead of swiss cheese, I used grand cru alpine cheese–which is basically swiss. And I didn’t have red wine for the broth, but I had white. I think it was just as good had I followed the recipe exactly. I have to confess, I burnt the buns when I put them under the broiler. Oh well, just slap some extra cheese on there to  make up for it.

beef roast au jus french dip sandwich

Definitely try these if you have leftover beef roast. Or try them with a beef roast. Either way, you won’t be disappointed, and you’ll have dinner on the table with barely any effort. Win-win in my book!

One thought on “PROJECT RECIPE: Slow Cooker French Dip Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

