Asian Glazed Salmon

Last week, as I was making a menu and store list for December, I found a beautiful recipe for miso glazed fish in my Martha Stewart Dinner at Home cookbook. I love this cookbook because it is arranged by season and it has 52 complete meals, with a main dish, appetizer and dessert. Martha Stewart might not be everyone’s cup of tea, but homegirl knows what’s up when it comes to doing dinner right.

Anyway, I thought I had everything I needed to make this, but I realized I didn’t have enough miso when I got ready to make it. So, I had to come up with something on the fly. I think Asian flavors just naturally go with the taste of salmon, so I grabbed some soy sauce, ginger garlic and honey. This turned out great and and I wanted to share the recipe.

Enjoy!

soy sauce and honey glazed salmon (2)

Asian Glazed Salmon (serves 2 or 3–easily doubles)

  • 2 or 3 filets of salmon
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 Tb honey
  • 1 Tb ginger, minced
  • 1 Tb garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp Chinese five spice
  • dash red pepper flakes
  • 1 green onion, chopped
  • sesame seeds

 In a small bowl, mix the soy sauce, honey, ginger, garlic sesame oil, Chinese five spice and pepper flakes. Whisk until the honey is completely dissolved–or not gloppy. That is the technical term… gloppy. Put the salmon in a glass baking dish (I used 8 X 8, but it was a little snug). Pour the honey mixture over them and let them sit at room temperature for about 15 minutes. Carefully flip them and let them sit about 15 more minutes. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 15 to 20 minutes, uncovered. Turn on your broiler, and place just under a high broiler for a minute or two (watch it closely) to get a nice brown on the salmon. (I didn’t do this step, but it would have been even better if I would have. I’ll do it next time.) Garnish with green onion and sesame seeds.

I love it when a recipe falls together like this, when you didn’t have the ingredients you need. I’ve come up with some of my favorite dishes by improvising with what I had on hand. This one is sure to be in the regular rotation, since it was so quick and easy. Perfect for weeknights. Maybe Martha would like me to be a contributor to her next cookbook. Nah, probably not, actually.

 soy sauce and honey glazed salmon

 

Leave a Reply

