2015: Resolve to do more of what makes me happy

Fun fact: New Year’s Eve is my favorite holiday. I love any opportunity to wear sequins and drink sparkling wine. But I also like the feeling of turning a page. I like looking back on all amazing memories of the past year, and vowing to have more of those for next New Year’s Eve. It’s an opportunity to reflect and take stock of your love life, career, closet… all of the above, or whatever is important to you.

The Hubs and I stayed in last night, as we have sometimes before. We had a sushi picnic in the floor of the family room and watched some shows on our DVR queue. Even though it’s my favorite holiday, I don’t need a big fancy party to enjoy it. On New Year’s Day, we celebrated in our usual fashion by watching the Rose Parade, followed by the NHL Winter Classic and lots of college football. In keeping with tradition, I made reuben loaf, so we could have cabbage on New Years Day for good luck.

It was practically a perfect day, filled with stuff that makes me happy.

I drank coffee and read the paper in bed. I did lots of cooking–the reuben loaf, cabbage soup, and I pressure canned several quarts of stock. I was even nice enough to make an extra reuben loaf for my brother, and he came over to pick it up. He stayed and hung out for a while watching football with us. I cuddled with my cats a lot. And, I finished the day by flipping through seed catalogs by the fireplace.

New Years day (2)

soup, stock and reuben loaf in progress

Now who's going to do all the dishes?

Now who’s going to do all the dishes?

New Years day

I need to remind myself that life is to short to not do what I can to be happy every day. It’s something I wish more of us would embrace. We all need to be reminded of this from time to time, because it’s easy to forget. Literally, stop and smell the roses. Don’t be in such a hurry all the time, smile at strangers you pass in the hallway of the office, put down your smartphone every once in a while and hug your loved ones extra tight. You’ll be happier, I’ll bet.

Leave a Reply

