PROJECT RECIPE: Crockpot Bourbon Chicken

I am always scoping out new recipes that you can make in a slow cooker. I have a few regular recipes in my rotation, but it’s always nice to mix it up a bit. I am a huge slow cooker fan because I love walking in my house when I get home from work and smelling dinner that is already done and ready to eat. It’s especially nice when my work gets really busy this time of year. After working long hours, it’s so nice to not have to worry about a hearty, healthy dinner when I get home. I ran across this recipe for Crockpot Bourbon Chicken on Pinterest from the Spend With Pennies blog.

Since I had to work Sunday afternoon, I knew it would be the perfect time to test this one out.

crockpot bourbon chicken

Even some leftover for lunch.

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: Eh, I wasn’t wowed by this one. It was pretty good. But there was a little more involved than throwing everything in the slow cooker. After it was cooked, the recipe was to take out the chicken, cut it up, then cook the sauce down with some cornstarch to thicken it. The sauce was very good, actually. I wish I’d put some green peppers or onions in when I cooked the chicken, so I compensated by making fried rice loaded with veggies. If I were going to make it again, I would definitely put some onions and peppers in when I cooked the chicken.

How I changed the recipe: Well, I didn’t have bourbon when I got around to making this on Sunday because Friday night, the Hubs finished off the dab we had left. I might have helped. So, I thought about what I could substitute for it. It’s hard to replicate the oakey bourbon taste, but I used the next best thing, a little chardonnay. I also didn’t have apple juice, so I used vegetable stock. That’s all I changed.

There are some really great looking recipes on this blog, and I’ve already pinned and printed the recipe for cabbage roll soup to try. There will be many more late nights at the office in the next couple months, and I’ll need some more slow cooker recipes to rotate through my usual routine.

Leave a Reply

