PROJECT RECIPE: Shrimp Pad Thai on the Lighter Side

I’ve never actually had pad thai before. So I have nothing to compare it to. But, it’s noodles, shrimp, egg and Asian spices, all things I love, so I figured what the heck? It had to be good, right? Of course it was.

I found this recipe for Shrimp Pad Thai on pinterest, like I find most of my recipes these days. When I started this series, it was as an effort to cut down on some of the recipes I had piled up from beautiful food blogs. It was before I was on pinterest. And now, I’ve only piled up more recipes with beautiful and interesting pictures that I want to try. At least now that pile is digital, and not taking up space on my shelf with cookbooks.

shrimp pad thai

The recipe is from Skinny Taste, which has a ton of healthy, quick and easy recipes. This is perfect for January, if you’re still trying to stick to your New Year’s Resolutions, like me.

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: Keeper. This was quick and easy, healthy and tasty. That’s a grand slam. You seriously don’t even think of it as being healthy, it’s so yummy. You’re too busy slurping down those noodles.

How I changed the recipe: In the interest of saving money, I bought whole wheat spaghetti instead of soba noodles, since they are about a third of the price. There wasn’t really a noticeable difference. I also didn’t have crushed peanuts or bean sprouts, but those two things are kinda garnishes. Because peanuts (I’m guessing) are important to pad thai, I didn’t leave them out all together, I used a tablespoon of natural crunchy peanut butter, to at least give it the flavor. It was pretty good.

shrimp pad thai (1)

This is definitely a recipe to pin (click through the link above) for busy weeknights. You can skip the calories and fat from ordering takeout and have this dinner on the table is pretty much the same amount of time with little effort.

Maybe I’ll order it sometime just to see how close I got here. On a “cheat” day, at least.

Leave a Reply

