PROJECT RECIPE: Roasted Carrot Soup with White Miso

Soup recipes always get my attention because I eat it for lunch about everyday. Year-round. The best thing about eating soup year-round is using what’s in season. Tomato soup in late summer. Adding greens in fall and spring. I like to make a big pot on Sunday afternoon to take for lunch all week. This carrot soup with miso was a nice recipe for winter.

I have been following the {never} homemaker blog for a while. The recipes are solid healthy fare, and she sprinkles in stories about running and fitness, and sometimes it motivates me to hear about how other people exercise. Sometimes.

The recipes are always simple and straight forward. I’m a big believer in that. The best recipes, in my opinion, just let the ingredients be the star, not super-fussy techniques. This recipe for Roasted Carrot Soup with White Miso measures up.

carrot miso soup (4)

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: Keeper. Carrots and miso are such an interesting combo. I honestly had no idea what this would taste like, but it was really good. Miso is so salty, and roasting the carrots and onions made them nice and sweet. It was that really good combo of salty and sweet like bugles in vanilla ice cream. Well, maybe not, but it was really, really good. Plus, it was really, really easy. It took about 45 minutes or an hour total, but most of that was the time the vegetables were in the oven roasting.

carrot miso soup (2)

How I changed the recipe: I didn’t. But this soup is a little thin. I think next time, I’ll roast a big potato in the oven along with the vegetables and toss it in the blender to mix in the soup and mix it up a little. Or maybe a couple tablespoons of cornstarch to thicken it up. I like my soup with a little more body than this.

But, it’s pretty yummy like it is. It has such an interesting taste from the miso. Definitely not my same ol’ soup every day.

carrot miso soup

It’s worth checking out through the links above. And checking out some of the other recipes while you’re on the blog taking a peek.

2 thoughts on “PROJECT RECIPE: Roasted Carrot Soup with White Miso

  1. Oh I am so glad that some one else love to add salty things to ice cream… I love pretzels in my butter pecan ice cream and love love roast carrots… this is something I will have to try with the potato addition… I like my soup thick and creamy also… and this winter is dragging on and on. soup is good!

Leave a Reply

