British Curry Chips

If I had to pick my favorite type of cuisine, it would be tough. I love Asian food. And I love Italian. But, I think my favorite type of food has to be bar food. Hands down. I love wings. Potato skins. Nachos. And a nice spicy IPA to go with it, or a hearty toasted porter.

While, really, the best part of bar food is the ambiance, in my opinion, sometimes the Hubs and I like to make pub grub at home and stay in. Particularly if there’s a game on. It’s almost like we’re there. Except my bathroom is a lot cleaner than the bar. That’s a good thing.

Last summer, when we were in Niagara Falls, we went up to Niagara On The Lake for the day, and we ate at an Irish pub before leaving town. We got burgers and fries, but you could substitute poutine (it was Canada, afterall) or curry fries for regular fries… Er, I mean chips. The Hubs got poutine, which was amazing, and I got the curry chips.

I never heard of them before, but they were really, really good. I figured they were fries with curry seasoning on them, but no. These were crispy and greasy fries with curry SAUCE over them. It was weird, but amazing.

Wintertime is the perfect time for bar comfort food like curry chips. Last Sunday, I decided to try and make them myself.

My first attempt wasn’t too bad.

curry fries (2)

British Curry Chips (makes 3-4 servings)

  • 4 to 6 medium thin-skinned potatoes (I used kennebec)
  • 2 Tb cornstarch
  • 4 Tb olive oil
  • kosher salt
  • 3 Tb olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 Tb all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups vegetable stock
  • 2 Tb curry powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp tumeric
  • 1 tsp corriander
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp red pepper flakes (depending on how spicy you want it)
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup parsley, chopped

Cut the potatoes into sticks for fries. Soak in a bowl of cold water for 15-20 minutes. Drain and pat dry with a clean dish towel. Place potatoes in a large bowl and toss with cornstarch. Drizzle with 4 Tb olive oil and sprinkle with a pinch of kosher salt. Toss to coat. Spread the potatoes on a baking sheet lined with non-stick aluminum foil (the dull side). Bake in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. Turn and bake for another 10-15 minutes. Meanwhile, heat the 3 Tb oil in a large sauce pan. Add the diced onion, and saute until softened, about 6 minutes. Stir to keep it from burning. Add the garlic after about 3 minutes. Sprinkle the flour over the onions and stir for a few minutes. Slowly add the stock, and whisk to combine. Add the spices. Bring the mixture up to a boil, then reduce heat, stirring constantly until the sauce thickens, about 2 minutes. Turn the heat down to low and add the cream. Stir to combine. Keep warm until the potatoes are done. When the potatoes are brown and crispy around the edges, they are done. Serve with the curry sauce poured over them and sprinkle parsley on top.

Of course, fries are better, if they’re well… fried. But I don’t have a fryer, and these are healthier. They were almost as good as the fried ones I had at the Irish pub.

Curry sauce on fries might seem weird, but Great Britain has a strong Indian culture–and of course, a great pub culture. So, really, curry sauce and chips go together perfectly. There was even a short-lived tv show in the Sixties in England called “Chips and Curry”.

If you like curry sauce, you def need to try this. It’s definitely an interesting take on bar food–and went great washed down with an IPA.

Leave a Reply

