PROJECT RECIPE: Lemon Ricotta Scallops

Who’s tired of winter? I’m tired of brown hillsides and dirty, salty vehicles. I’m tired of coats and gloves and flannel pjs. I’m so tired of hearty casseroles and heavy cold-weather food. Don’t get me wrong–I love casseroles and stews, but I’ve just had my fill for a few months.

I didn’t even realize how ready I am for something fresh and green until I was eating this and realizing what I am lacking. This is perfect early spring fare. The lemon makes it nice and bright and the ricotta is just right–not too heavy.

I found this recipe for Lemon Ricotta Scallops on pinterest. I love scallops, and it sounded like a quick and easy dinner, so it wasn’t hard to sell me on this one.

PROJECT RECIPE verdict: Keeper. This was almost too easy. As a matter of fact, I was making meatballs for dinner the next night while I made this. It comes together pretty quick, and there’s not a lot of active cooking time. Cook pasta. Sear scallops. Stir it all together with some peas, ricotta and lemon zest. Boom. Done.

IMG_5932

How I changed the recipe: I halved it… mostly. I used the full amount of scallops and more peas than were called for. But everything else, I halved. I actually should have used less peas, probably. I did use frozen peas rather than fresh, but I dumped them in when I was mixing things up, then put it back on the still-hot burner and put a lid on for about 10 minutes. I also didn’t have fresh thyme, and I didn’t even have dried. All I had was ground. So, I just added a pinch.

IMG_5933

You’d think since I halved it, it would have made two servings, but it actually made three generous servings. Enough for leftovers for lunch. And, now I’m craving fresh peas and herbs and everything that comes with spring. I hope it’s just around the corner.

Leave a Reply

